Bon Voyage Concert

Saturday, we had our final practice for our Sunday Bon Voyage Concert, “SALUTE to AMERICA – Let Freedom Ring!”. (Check the previous post for more information about the tour.) It was our first night to try the slideshow that accompanies our P1060482performance, and it went pretty well. Personally though, I was really tired, having finished a strenuous session with my trainer just before this session, so when it appeared that our rehearsal was over, I was really ready and glad to go home. But then I noticed that most of the group was still sitting in their seats. Why was that? I soon I soon learned that we were only half done, that we were going to do the whole performance one more time! I managed to struggle back to my seat, and our final run through went fine.
SelectedWe had a pretty good turnout for the actual performance Sunday, and I also heard the Love Offering went well, always good news, and for which we are grateful. In view of the massacre that recently happened in Orlando, Florida, it was pretty tough to get through parts of our program, which is wonderfully patriotic and upbeat. Nevertheless, I know we are all looking forward to our concert performances on tour. Regarding the performances, the good news is that we have added a third performance on land, so that we will now be singing at the Anchorage Heritage Museum, a Resort Hotel in Denali , and the Pioneer Theater in Fairbanks, as well as the two concerts on board the Coral Princess.

Whenever I mention our tour to anyone they usually ask where we are going in Alaska, and I am hard-pressed to come up with the names of the cities, which are Ketchikan, Juneau, Skagway, Glacier Bay National Park, College Fjord, Whittier, Anchorage, Talkeetna, Denali, and Fairbanks. Well, the initials are KJSGCWATF, and the way I am remember them now is with the sentence: Ketchup Just Smells Good, of Course We All Think Differently, Folks…. Works for me.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

