Wednesday, June 6, 2012 – Heading home

[If you want to follow our trip from the beginning, click here.]

Time to head home.  We had an easy time of packing and headed to La Guardia Airport after saying goodbye to two of our excellent doormen, David and Keith.  I should have taken their picture.

We had a two hour 35 minute layover in Philadelphia, which gave me some time to work on this blog.  I wound up sitting next to a man who seemed interested in what I was doing, and the reason was that he worked for Dell Computers.  Because I told him I was having jumpy mouse problems, he reconfigured my mouse on the spot, getting rid of a bad driver, but the problem was still not corrected.  “It’s a known problem”, he said.  We have communicated since and apparently there is not a a “known solution”.  I’m still hoping.

We also had time for a snack, and on the menu there was a Philly Cheese Steak.  Now I have lived in the Philadelphia area for 17 years, and I know and appreciate a good cheese steak.  (They are not available in San Diego by the way.  The bread is not right.)  I couldn’t believe it when I saw the note in the menu,  “Cheez Whiz”.  A cheese steak has to have slices of Provolone heated on the grill with the meat, peppers, and onion, and I thought it was wise of them to own up to their misdeed ahead of time.  I have to confess I ordered it anyway, just to see what it was like.  Although it was not terribly bad, it was not a good Philly Cheese Steak.  The bread was wrong, too.

We asked for and received bulkhead seating for the long leg of our trip home, which was great for using a laptop.  Unlike Delta Airlines, US Airways did not charge extra for the seats.  But they did charge us for our first bags.

Our houseguest and by good fortune, our dog care person, Cynthia, picked us up at the Terminal 2, and we were on our way home to see our dogs, Kim and Rusty.

Our whole trip was a wonderful adventure, and that includes both the cross-country drive and the World Science Festival.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

